The Difference Between a House and a Home

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Summer break is coming to an end. Within a week I will be on my own at college. I’m leaving home.

Home is an interesting idea to me. Webster’s Dictionary defines home as the place where one lives permanently, especially as a member of a family or household. In some ways I agree with this definition, but to me a home isn’t a place where you live. A home is a feeling. To me a house is where you live. It’s merely a building, but what makes a home so special are the people, experiences, and memories that fill its rooms. People aren’t joking when they say that home is where the heart is. A home is centered around love, compassion, and respect.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

 

I feel that when we are really young home is very important to us. We grow up in our homes with our families and learn to love, but as we grow older and enter our teenage years different things pull us away. Friends, activities, and other interests draw our attention away from home. This is pretty true for me.

The other day it hit me like a freight train. I’m leaving. I’m leaving my hometown. I’m leaving my family. I’m leaving my friends. I’m leaving my church. I’m leaving my home.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

I’ve never really done anything like this before so I have no idea what it’s going to be like. I’m excited and scared at the same time. I’m excited to be living on my own and having new responsibilities, but I’m also kind of scared about the unknown and what is to come.

What does home mean to you? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

