The “God” Filter

IMG_1783

Well hear it is guys! This is the last post of my series on filters. Over the last couple weeks I’ve told you all about the us filter, fight filter, and the wisdom filter. We’re closing it off with the God filter. I hope y’all have enjoyed this series and I’d love to get some feedback.


What do you think about when you think of God?

Do you see him as a distant figure that doesn’t get very involved? What about someone who treats you like a mean principal?

We all have a picture in our mind of who God is and what he is like. Our mental picture of God greatly affects how we experience Him and this life. This is known as the “God” Filter.

IMG_1784

God is our true Father. Yes we have actual biological dads in our lives, but God is a different kind of father. He is the Father of all. We are his sons and daughters. He is a perfect father.

Jamey Dickens told us that God is our Father because he loves us, he is with us, and he is for us. God’s love for each one of us is so magnificent we can’t even fathom. He is always with us and will never leave us. Lastly, our Father is always on our side and wants us to succeed.

IMG_1782

Psalm 139:14 says “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Our Father loves us and made us all I’m a unique way. You were wonderfully made in his image.

This is God’s family. You are a part of it. You can’t leave it. You can run and you can hide, but He will always be there.

So what is your God Filter?

I always saw God as a distant figure; He was sort of like a guy up in the clouds. Once I changed my mental picture of Him from that figure to a more personable one in the form of a Father it all changed.

We are his. We are in his family. He is our Father. Take ownership of that idea. Let’s take this life and take what is rightfully ours.

The pictures for today’s post were taken by my good friend Logan Swanger. He was in Hawaii last week and took come cool pictures and asked if I wanted them for the blog so I said sure!

Leave a Reply

