The Best Day Ever

Have you ever waited so long for something and when it finally comes it’s better than you ever imagined? I experienced that this past weekend.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Saturday was one of the best nights of my life.

If you read my post about my obsession with music a while back you might now that my favorite band is The Districts. I first discovered them two years ago and have been loving their music ever since. They are a pretty small band and rarely come anywhere near Augusta so I have never been able to go to one of their shows. When I found out that they were going to be in Athens for AthFest I knew I had to be there. I had waited for too long to pass up on this opportunity. After I convinced my parents to let me go and my friend Henry to come along for the trip I couldn’t wait to go.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

It’s pretty difficult to find people who like The Districts as much as I do, but that wasn’t the case on Saturday. It was so cool being around so many people who are obsessed with the band as much as me. I met a teenager who had said this would be his fourth time seeing them. He raved about how great they were live.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

The Districts were the third band of the night. They followed Quiet Hounds and Neighbor Lady who were both so incredible. I strongly recommend both of those bands. If I had to describe Quiet Hounds I would say they are a southern alternative band. You should definitely listen to their song I Get Up. Neighbor Lady was really cool to me because they didn’t sell any merchandise or albums. They haven’t even released an album yet. The only music you can find that is theirs is in videos that people in the audience take.  They’re just a group of friends who write and play music together for fun.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

When eleven o’clock came around it was time for The Districts to go on stage. Ironically the first song I heard by them two years ago, Bold, was the first song of the night. They followed that up with 4th and Roebling. Next up was a song from their album Popular Manipulations which is supposed to be released in August. After that they played one of my favorite songs of all time: Long Distance. After some psychedelic interludes they performed Fat Kiddo and Chlorine. This was followed by the two Popular Manipulations songs they released early: If Before I Wake and Ordinary Day. This brought us to the last song of the show. Young Blood is normally an eight minute long song so I knew that it was about to be much longer since it was live. I am not joking when I say they melted my brain for eleven minutes straight. This next picture pretty much sums up how my brain felt after listening to them.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

What happened after they finished really shows what I love so much about this band. Most bands print out their setlist on paper and it looks pretty nice, but The Districts wrote their songs on a paper plate and I somehow got my hands on it. This just shows how simple they are.  That might seem weird to you, but thats so cool to me. I don’t know why I think that. Maybe I’m just weird.

IMG_1476.JPG

And of course I couldn’t leave without buying a t-shirt.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

All in all it was an incredible concert and quite possibly one of the best nights of my life.

One thought on “The Best Day Ever

  1. Pingback: Summer Tunes Roundup | Brooks Lemmon

Leave a Reply

