Four Summers and Four Choir Tours

I am currently on a bus headed to Orange, Texas with 58 other high schoolers. We have one mission: spread the word of God and share his unlimited love with everyone we meet along the way. This is my fourth and final choir tour with Love Unlimited youth choir. This choir has been a major aspect of my life throughout high school and I figured I would share some of my most memorable experiences as well as my favorite song from each tour.

First I’ll rewind to the summer after my freshman year when I went on my first choir tour to England. That year the choir had 103 members. I spent most of that trip trying to meet new people and learning from the upperclassmen. We traveled through Manchester, Bolton, the Lake District, and London. Our most impactful concert by far was at the Stowe School. It was a boarding school in Buckinghamshire. That was the first concert that I found myself raising my hands to the sky while praising my father’s name. Before I joined choir I never really understood why people raised their hands, but it happens so naturally when you’re in the moment. As the concert came to a close it seemed like everyone in the choir was crying. Some were tears of joy, some of brokenness, and some of surrender. After the concert many of the students at the Stowe School questioned me about why we were so emotional. I could only answer by saying “God’s love.”

“All authority, every victory is yours.”

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

 

The next year we went to New York for tour. We had 81 singers on this trip. We traveled all the way up the East Coast making stops for concerts at different churches on the way. My most memorable moment of this trip was singing at Anchor House. It is a faith-based treatment center for those less fortunate. Not only did we sing for the men there, but two of them spoke for us and gave their testimonies.

“The Lord our God is ever faithful, never changing through the ages, from this darkness, you will lead us, and forever we will say you’re the Lord our God”

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

 

Last year we traveled to Chicago to spread God’s word with others. At the time we had 70 singers in the choir. We represented 9 different high schools that year which led to me creating friendships with people from all over my city. People like Henry HawkinsChandler CanadyAndrew Kilpatrick, and Riley Vignati. Traveling with a mission really brings people together. Our most powerful performance was at the First United Methodist Church of Springfield, Illinois. It was one of the bigger audiences we had sung in front of during my years in the choir. Henry gave his testimony that night and I learned about the struggles that he had faced and how God worked through him to get through those times.

“With every breath, with every word I speak, with every step, with every heartbeat Jesus let it be for You, for You only, my whole life, all for your glory”

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

 

This brings us to the current year. We may only have 59 singers this year, but we still sing with so much power and conviction. Last night was our first concert of the trip. Cree Kilpatrick and I both gave our testimonies (I might be sharing mine with you soon). It is still only the beginning of choir tour, but I feel that this one could be the best one yet.

“Like a tidal wave crashing over me, rushing in to meet me here, your love is fierce, like a hurricane, that I can’t escape, tearing through the atmosphere, your love is fierce.”

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

2 thoughts on “Four Summers and Four Choir Tours

  1. Loved the concert and your testimonies. Hearts were opened and filled with the Holy Spirit. We were so blessed! Thank you!

    Like

  2. This is a great read. What a powerful witness for The Lord. Thank you for sharing your experiences with is amazing choir. I just wish everyone could attend homecoming.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

