What Four Years of High School Really Taught Me

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

At the surface high school is a place with the intention of educating teenagers on a variety of subjects that are meant to prepare them for work and life. We’ve grown up learning the same general concepts our whole lives, but when we get to high school we begin to learn about a different subject. The subject of life.

Lessons about life are not taught using powerpoints, worksheets, or notes. The subject of life is learned through conversation, experience, and reflection.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

img_0789.jpg

I graduated this weekend and am now reflecting on these past four years. Especially about what I have learned about life. I can tell you one thing… I have definitely learned a lot.

Here are my three main takeaways that I have learned over the past four years.

  1. You need to learn to not give a crap what anyone thinks. You’re going to have haters. Trust me I have quite a few. You’re going to have people who think that you’re weird or different, but you cant let them get you down. We can’t live our lives based on other people’s point of view. I have people in my life that shake their head at everything I say and laugh at me and talk about me behind my back, but you now what? I could care less. One day those people will look back and wish they were like you and me in that we stayed true to ourselves and did what made us happy.
  2. Keep your circle small. Keep you friend group pretty tight. Surround yourself with people who are only going to bring you up. Negativity will kill your self-confidence. The people who are closest to you will influence you the most so pick your friends wisely.
  3. Follow your passion. I learned a lot about myself during high school. I discovered my love for music, blogging, and helping others. Experiment and try new things. Be open to new experiences because high school is a great time for new beginnings. When you find something you love pursue it with a passion. When you figure out what you want to spend your life doing try to learn as much as you can about it and prepare for the future. Preparing now will only bring you closer to success later in life.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

These three takeaways are only the tip of the iceberg of life lessons I learned in high school. If you take these lessons to heart you will notice drastic changes happen in your life. Maybe you haven’t graduated yet, or maybe you are graduating soon, or even graduated forty years ago. Regardless, let me know what life lessons you have learned through your high school years. I would love to know so leave a comment or message me on social media.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

One thought on “What Four Years of High School Really Taught Me

  1. Congrats! Spoiler alert: you’ll probably use very little of what you learn in college too so be sure to take advantage of all those lessons you’ll learn in between and capitalize on making the most of your experience by staying engaged in meaningful extracurriculars!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

