Reviving My Heritage

I have some bad news.

We live in a “throw-away” world.

Most products are cheap and disposable. We buy something, use it a couple of times, and it breaks. It’s very difficult to find products that are built to last. They just don’t make things like they used to.

I am lucky to have grandparents that see the value in quality products that were built to stand the test of time.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

For my birthday this year my grandparents gave me my great-grandfather’s Cross pen and pencil set. They also allowed my brother and me to look through a box of our great-grandfather’s old knives. The collection included over thirty knives that were all different shapes and sizes. Some had one blade and others had many. Some were wood and some were plastic. My grandparents insisted that we take whatever we wanted. I ended up taking fifteen knives home with me that day.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

After getting the pen and pencil set as well as the first pieces of my knife collection I began to have thoughts about the quality of products made in this day and age. It amazes me how different the quality of a pen made in the mid-20th century compares to a pen made today; this is the same for so many industries.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Every week when I write these posts I pull out my laptop and get to typing, but this post was different and I believe it will have an affect on how I write my posts from here on out. I wrote this post with my great-grandfather’s Cross fountain pen and a small notebook. This fountain pen is sturdy, writes smoothly, and gives me a sense of pride in my family history. I hope I am able to use it for many years to come.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Products such as these pens and knives show us that when a solid design is laid out a quality product can be created to withstand a lifetime of use rather than just a fifty-five minute class period.

Leave a Reply

