My Obsession With Music

Lately I have really been enjoying writing these more personal posts so I figured I would write a about one of the biggest parts of my life. Music.

Music is a huge part of my life. I constantly have music playing. It doesn’t matter if I’m in school, my house, the gym, my car, or the shower. Music always seems to be playing in my life.

I listen to basically everything except country and trap/rap. I love alternative, indie, folk, rock, oldies, and dance music. The list goes on and on. Sometimes if I’m in a certain mood I will even listen to old school rap or 40s music.

The last couple weeks I’ve been listening to the Beastie Boys a lot. There is something about listening to their music in the car with the windows down that completely changes my mood. I love their rap-rock sound. Even if you don’t know who they are you have probably heard their music. “Fight for Your Right” and “No Sleep till Brooklyn” are really popular. I also really like “Live At P.J.’s” and “Professor Booty.”

My obsession with music started when I discovered my favorite band. The Districts are a garage rock band that has roots rock and psychedelic rock influences. I first discovered them in 2015 and have been listening to their music ever since. They rarely play shows anywhere close to Augusta so I haven’t been able to go to their concerts, but I just found out that they will be doing a show in Athens this summer. Nothing will stop me from being there. I have been waiting for this for too long. My favorite songs are “Funeral Beds,” “Call Box,” and “Long Distance.” You should definitely check them out!

When I’m in the mood for a little more chill music I really enjoy The Lumineers. I’m a fan of their folky tunes. My favorites are “Slow It Down” and “Sleep on the Floor.” My dad claims they are trying to hard to sound like Bob Dylan and end up sounding like wannabes, but I think otherwise.

This was only a small run down of the music I enjoy so more posts like this will be coming in the future. I hope you check out these bands and let me know what you think.

Maybe you’re a music junkie like me or maybe not so much. Let me know! What do you like to listen to? I’m always looking for new stuff so let me know if you have any recommendations.

Roll the windows down and turn it to 10! I hope y’all have a great weekend.

3 thoughts on “My Obsession With Music

  1. The Beastie Boys’ Licensed to Ill and Blink 182’s Take Off Your Pants and Jacket were the first two CDs I owned when I was like 11 (sorry mom). My all time favorite Beastie Boys song is Intergalactic! It’s so funky. I’m pretty sure Alex only started dating me because I listened to good music. You can ask him to confirm haha this is a good list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Summer Tunes Roundup | Brooks Lemmon

Leave a Reply

