Confidence In My College Decision

So far I have published twenty-four blog posts (I can’t believe it has been that many!) and up until now I have not given much information about myself. I’m sure you know I’m in high school, but you probably don’t know what I like to do, the music I like to listen to, or the people I hang out with. Since this is my twenty-fifth blog post I decided to change it up some and write about myself. You all deserve to know whose writing you have been reading for the last seven months. With this in mind I am going to start writing posts about my life in addition to my normal weekly posts.

My name is Brooks Lemmon, hence the name of the website, and I’m a senior in high school. I live in Augusta, Georgia and next year I will be a student at the University of Georgia.

I am excited about Georgia and can’t wait to be there next year, but my attraction to the school is recent. I didn’t grow up being a UGA fan, in fact I actually disliked UGA. I told myself I would never go there. I don’t know why I had those feelings, but I just didn’t want to go there. After I heard back from all of the colleges I applied to it turned out that Georgia was the best option so I decided to go there with a plan to transfer to Georgia Tech (my dream school) after my freshman year.

Last weekend I went to Athens for a Christian fraternity party and my views of UGA completely shifted. I am now confident in my college decision and I can’t wait to be there next year. It’s crazy how our entire outlook on something can completely shift in the matter of a couple of hours. Now I have no doubts in my mind that UGA is the place for me.

The people I met in Athens over the weekend showed me what college life is really like and now I’m really looking forward to what life has in store for me next year. I’ll be happy wherever this life takes me no matter what happens. Making new friends, going on adventures, going to concerts, learning more about the subjects I love, and telling y’all about it all along the way can’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

