The 3 Keys To Staying On Track With The Lord

“Jesus High” has become a commonplace phrase in today’s youth.

Being on a Jesus High is essentially the feeling one experiences during the time following a powerful spiritual event such as a mission trip, choir trip, or sermon. This feeling can occur after any event that affects us deep in our core. When someone experiences a Jesus High following the Lord becomes easier. We have a drive to serve and worship the Lord. Sadly for some people these feelings slowly fade away and they eventually fall back to where they were before the life-changing event.

Sometimes when we become comfortable in our faith we can begin to fall off the track. It is very easy to become complacent where we are and that is when we begin to lose our habitual spiritual practices.

When we experience this situation we must realize it and transform it from a “high” to an actual part of our life that lasts. There are numerous things you can do to help stay on track.

I believe that having a regular practice of communicating with God is the root of a strong faith. You should spend time in conversation with God regularly. I talk to God every morning. Some people pray in silence, but in the morning I pray out loud. This may feel strange for some people, but for me it is incredibly powerful. When I talk to God I pray using the ACTS acronym. I pray four prayers each morning: the first is a prayer of admiration, second is prayer of confession, third is a prayer of thanksgiving, and fourth is a prayer of supplication. I begin by admiring God and giving him praise, then I confess my sins and ask God to forgive me for my wrongdoings, following that I give thanks to God and express gratitude, and I finish by asking God for help with whatever is on my mind.

You should also plan to have a quiet time or devotional every day. Dive into his word during this time. Every morning I read a couple chapters out of the Bible and then work through whatever material is associated with the current devotional that I am following. This might be a lot for some people so something as simple as reading a Bible verse a day is a great starting point.

Having Godly people in your life will also help you stay on track with your spirituality. Join a bible study or a small group. Go to youth events or join a choir. Being around good Christian people who have a positive influence on you will push you towards a stronger faith. I am not saying that you should ostracize non-Chrisitains because we are called to be disciples, but it is helpful to have close friends who are rooted in their faith to hold you accountable.

Philippians 4:8 tells us “finally brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”

Direct your attention towards these things and don’t let anything else obstruct your path. Keep a strong connection with God through communicating with Him, reading the word, and having Christ-like people in your life.

Leave a Reply

